Black arrow pointing to the right All Events & News

Butte County FSC Named Nonprofit of the Year!

Congratulations are in order! The Butte County Fire Safe Council was selected as a 2019 California Nonprofit of the Year by Senator Jim Nielsen.

Calli-Jane DeAnda, Executive Director of the Butte County Fire Safe Council (FSC) traveled to Sacramento on June 5th to join 100 other nonprofit leaders to be honored by their state senators and assemblymembers during California Nonprofits Day.

The Butte County FSC is a community non-profit organization that provides fire safety awareness and forest health projects to residents throughout Butte County, particularly in rural, forested, and woodland/chaparral areas. Formed in 1998, the council has a 17-member Board of Directors, 9 staff, and numerous volunteers. The organization strives to reduce wildfire damage and devastation through fuels reduction projects, voluntary home visitations, no-cost chipper program, youth outreach, and community outreach. Projects to support Camp Fire recovery are a current priority for the organization.

The Butte County FSC works in partnership with volunteers and community Fire Safe Councils throughout Butte County, including: Forbestown Ridge, Feather Falls, Berry Creek, Yankee Hill/Concow, Paradise, Magalia, Oroville Foothills – Lake Wyndotte and Forest Ranch.

For more information about the Butte County FSC, visit www.buttefiresafe.net or call 530-877-0984.

We encourage you to consider supporting the Butte County FSC and their efforts at this link: https://www.paypal.me/bcfsc.


A black arrow pointing up